Wednesday Night Dinner

Dine in with us logo

At Fresh FACS we’re so excited to participate in the 2015 Family & Consumer Sciences Day “Dining In” initiative!  As a retired FACS teacher, I have spent the better part of my professional life teaching young people to cook and emphasizing the value of family mealtime.  Taking charge of the food we eat is such an important part of a healthy lifestyle and I applaud AAFCS for using Family & Consumer Sciences Day to emphasize these concepts.

Since I prepare a simple, healthful dinner virtually every night of the week, I thought you all might find it helpful if I share some of my go-to recipes.  So periodically over the weeks between now and December 3, I will be sharing recipes and photos of those meals.   Last night we had this delicious Cranberry Chicken with steamed broccoli.  It’s one of my husband’s favorites!  Enjoy!

Cranberry chicken

Cranberry Chicken

½ cup all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon pepper
6 boneless chicken breast halves
3 tablespoons margarine or butter
1 cup water
1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries
½ cup packed brown sugar
Dash ground nutmeg
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

Hot cooked rice

Directions:

1.    In a shallow dish, combine flour and pepper; dredge chicken. 

2.    In a skillet, melt margarine over medium heat.  Brown chicken on both sides.  Remove and keep warm. 

3.    In the same skillet, combine water, cranberries, brown sugar, nutmeg and vinegar.  Cook and stir until the berries burst, about 5 minutes. 

4.    Return chicken to skillet.  Cover and simmer for 20 to 30 minutes or until chicken is tender, basting occasionally with sauce. 

5.    Serve over rice.

Yield: 6 servings

If you use any of these recipes, I’d love to hear from you!

Ramona

