The FACS—Earth Day Connection

ESR and leaves

Happy Earth Day, everyone!  I hope you’re discussing some of the FACS of living green in your classes today.  It would be impossible for me to let Earth Day come and go without reminding anyone who reads this blog post about the positive environmental impact made by FACS Founder Ellen S. Richards.  Here’s a link to one of my favorite articles about Ellen and ecology.  I hope you’ll take a few minutes to read it and then share what you’ve learned about Ellen and her work. 

I have been an avid recycler for years, but some of this recycling information from the April 20 issue of Parade Magazine was new to me so I thought I’d share it with all of you.   Guess this is an example of recycling, too, right?

  • CFL light bulbs can be recycled for free at IKEA and Home Depot stores.
  • Wal-Mart and Sam’s Clubs accept old video games for store credit.
  • Participating Nike stores will accept old sneakers for recycling into building materials.
  • This one totally surprised me!! The charity Matter of Trust is actively soliciting clean pet hair to be used to soak up oil spills. 
  • Your old greeting cards at can be sent to St. Jude’s Ranch where they will be recycled into new cards that they sell to raise money.

You’ll find some interesting statistics about recycling from the MIT website, Ellen Swallow Richards’ alma mater.  Appropriate, don’t you think?

Happy Earth Day!

Looking for more ideas for bringing ecology into your FACS classroom?  Check out one of our classic resources, Home Ecology, The FACS of Living Green on our website.

