It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

reading a good book 4 Pizza 1 cropped

Reading fiction in FACS class?  Really??!! How does that work exactly?  I’m already stressed out just trying to cover the topics I have to teach!  I don’t have enough time!  I don’t know how to teach reading!  Teaching reading is the job of the Language Arts department, isn’t it? 

Hmmm… Sound familiar?  Are these the kinds of questions that pop into your mind at the suggestion that you should incorporate fiction into your FACS curriculum?  Well, I’m here to tell you that I’ve been where you are and survived.  I implemented a reading component into my FACS classes several years ago ago with great success so I’m speaking from experience here.  I promise that introducing fiction into your FACS program will be a great addition.

Since I’ve written posts on this topic several times over the years, I’m not going to waste space repeating myself.  I will simply state that I am absolutely passionate that EVERY FACS program should have a reading component!  No exceptions!!  If you’re wondering how you can make that happen, I encourage to search this blog for posts on FACS literacy and reading in FACS for rationale and practical strategies.  

reading a good book 2 reading a good book 5

Now here’s some new information regarding the benefits of reading fiction from an article from Psychology Today that I recently read.   (Click on the hyperlink to read the full article.)  The author points out the “neuroscientists have discovered that reading a novel can improve brain function on a variety of levels.”  Here are the main points from the article that support making fiction a priority.

  • Becoming engrossed in a novel enhances connectivity in the brain and improves brain function.
  • Reading fiction improves the reader’s ability to put themselves in another’s shoes making them more empathetic.
  • Changes in the brain caused by reading a novel are registered in the left temporal cortex, an area of the brain associated with language comprehension.
  • Reading fiction can make children more compassionate to other people’s suffering.
  • Reading fiction encourages imagination.
  • Novels allow readers to escape day-to-day stress and problems.
  • A good story can stay with children and have profound implications in shaping their brains.

reading a good book 6 I hope that I’ve at least opened you mind to the possibility of adding fiction to your FACS curriculum.  I hope you’ll take a few minutes to check out the FACS literacy resources that I’ve developed on our website

Today was all theory.  Come back tomorrow for some more practical implications.  Celebrate National Library Week!  Read a book!  Need some suggestions?  Check out the FACS By the Book Board on Pinterest.

