Attitude Adjustment

I was a little appalled when I sat down to write this post and realized that I haven’t shared anything since December 13.  That’s nearly a month ago!  Sorry to have been so negligent.  Guess the holidays and some pretty serious winter weather conditions have distracted me from my FACS obligations.  I promise to do better in the future.  Please accept my belated good wishes for a happy, healthy and FACS-friendly 2014.  Let’s commit together to making this the year that we begin to rebuild the public image of FACS and once again make our programs vital and recognized for their true worth.

That train of thought leads me to share one of my most firm New Year’s resolutions for 2014.  I vow to keep the tone of these blog posts more informative and much less preachy in the future. 

With the #Save FACS series that I completed shortly before Christmas I shared a lot of ideas for generally improving the image of FACS/Home Economics.  While I hope that those suggestions were received in the spirit in which that were offered, I realize that I may have come across as being critical and egotistical, as if I have all the answers.  That was absolutely never my intent.  However I feel that it’s time for me to get back to what I do best: sharing ideas and information that you can use in your classroom to FACSessorize your lessons.  FYI—FACSessorize is my original term for adding interesting content and instructional methods to your lesson plans to make them more memorable and relevant. 

I’ve been collecting and organizing a wealth of ideas, activities, cool facts and figures, terms and other snippets of information that you can use to “spice up” your already fabulous FACS lesson plans.  I promise to share these instructional treasures with you on a regular, if somewhat unstructured basis. 

I hesitate to commit to a set posting schedule because I am working very hard on finishing a new resource called Four Course FACS, A Fictional Culinary Adventure, which I hope to have completed by the end of March.  It’s based on the absolutely wonderful teen novel Pizza, Love and Other Stuff That Made Me Famous by Kathryn Williams. 

It’s going to be a fun and fabulous resource for bringing reading into Foods/Culinary Arts classes.  The novel is a treasure trove of culinary references and I’m having a great time creating a curriculum based on the story’s theme.  My goal is that Four Course FACS will allow Culinary Arts students to use their textbooks simply as references and make the novel and the activities in Four Course FACS their primary instructional guides for their culinary training.  It’s a bit of a revolutionary concept, I know, but isn’t that just what we need in FACS right now?  Oops!  There I go again!  Sorry!

As the photo above indicates, we plan to bundle Four Course FACS, A Fictional Culinary Adventure with a copy of Pizza, Love, and Other Stuff That Made Me Famous.  As a bonus we will also be including CD versions of Cooking Up Success and The Educated Palate.  With the addition of two of our most popular culinary resources, FACS teachers will have a complete instructional library of lab-tested recipes, classroom experiences and student activities.  To follow the development of Four Course FACS and receive notification of its release, sign up to follow this blog and watch our Facebook and Twitter feeds for updates.

I’m excited about the experiences that lie ahead in the New Year!  What are you excited about in 2014?  I’d love to hear what’s on your mind!

