Give Me An Example

In Tuesday’s post Growing the Image of FACS, I suggested that you enhance your image as someone who has valuable and interesting information to share.  In that post I also encouraged you to raise your own awareness of interesting facts that you can share through social media.  It has occurred to me since I writing that post that some examples of what I have in mind might be helpful, so here goes.  Please note that I came across all of these examples in the last 48 hours!  There really is so much FACS-related information to identify and share if you just look for it.  Come on, it’s fun!

raclette

In the Holiday Gift Guide from Crate and Barrel I learned about Raclette, a Swiss holiday tradition that is hundreds of years old.  Raclette is a semi-firm cheese that is the centerpiece of this dining and entertaining tradition.  The cheese is melted on a special grill like the one in the photo above.  Sounds a lot like fondue, doesn’t it?  Learn more about Raclette and then share what you’ve learned.

bojagi furoshiki

Found this tidbit of holiday information in the latest issue of Shop Smart magazine.  Does all that wasted wrapping paper used during the holidays make you crazy?  Skip the paper and use fabric wraps like the ones pictured above.  The image on the left is an example of the Korean tradition of Bojagi scarves.  On the right is an example of furoshiki.  Learn more about these beautiful green wrapping alternatives and then practice them with your students and share the results through social media.

app

I also learned about BuyVia, this great shopping app on the Shop Smart website that I’m sure your friends would love to hear about.  Check it out and share it with your friends.  They’ll acknowledge you as the consumer resource guru that you are!

Oh and by the way, today is National Guacamole Day and National Pickle Day!

charcuterie

The term charcuterie was also used in an ad in the holiday Crate and Barrel catalog.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit after all my years teaching culinary arts that I wasn’t familiar with this word, but it’s a fact.  Maybe you could educate your friends and followers about the French word for sausages and other cured or processed meat and meat products.

I hope these examples have clarified the theory behind the Growing the Image of FACS blog post.  Now go out and find some fascinating FACS facts to share with your students and your contacts on social media to #Save FACS!

