FACS By the Book

FACSbytheBookSHELF_WithTitles (3)

Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.”  Ralph Waldo Emerson

I know you’re all getting ready for the upcoming holiday weekend, but I just wanted to give you a heads up that I’ll be beginning a new blog post series on Tuesday, September 3.  (My birthday, by the way!)  The focus of the series will be strategies for incorporating fiction into your existing FACS curriculum without overwhelming either you or your students.  It can be done, I promise you!  This is the voice of experience speaking here!

Over the next few weeks and months I’ll be sharing lots of ideas for blending works of fiction that your students will love into all FACS content areas.  There will be Q & A’s with some well-known authors answering questions that relate to the FACS curriculum and revealing some surprising and amusing insights into the writing process.  I will also be sharing some really valuable information that will make creating a reading component for FACS classes much simpler than you would imagine.

Four Course FACS cover Pizza 1

I will also be documenting the process I follow as I create a new resource for Fresh FACS called Four Course FACS, based on the delightful teen novel Pizza, Love, and Other Stuff That Made Me Famous by Kathryn Williams.  I’ll be sharing a photo journal of the recipes that I develop and test for Four Course FACS as well as other projects and ideas.

So enjoy the last holiday weekend of the summer and mark your calendar for September 3.  To make sure that you don’t miss any of the fun, you can choose to follow this blog!

Have a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

Ramona

