Summertime Summary

Wow!  I’ll bet many of you thought I had abandoned this blog for good and forever!  Sorry for my long hiatus from sharing!  My only excuse is that this has been one of the busiest and best summers of my adult life.  I truly hope that each of you have collected as many wonderful memories over the past few months as Dusty and I have!  Summer has been great, but now that it’s back-to-school time, my internal teacher clock tells me that it’s time to get back to work.  Sigh. 

Beginning next week I hope to get into a more regular schedule of sharing ideas, thoughts, and discoveries (that I hope you will find useful or at least interesting) that relate to the FACS experience.  In the meantime, I’d like to tell you “how I spent my summer vacation.”  Hope you enjoy this brief photo journal.

We took my sister and brother-in-law to Little Rock, Arkansas for a weekend in June.  The highlight of our visit was spending the morning at the Clinton Presidential Library. 

Dusty and I took up biking as a serious hobby this summer.  Our favorite trails are Tunnel Hill here in Southern Illinois and the Katy Trail in Augusta, Missouri.

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in St. Louis with family in late June.  We had a blast on our Segway tour of Forest Park!  I highly recommend it!

The FCCLA National Leadership Conference in Nashville, Tennessee was such a fabulous experience!  We loved meeting FACS professionals from all over the country! The Gaylord Resort and Hotel is awesome!

The last conference of our summer season was the OATFACS Conference in Columbus, Ohio.  This was our first opportunity to participate in this energetic conference, but it certainly won’t be our last!  We made so many new great FACS friends!  Loved downtown Columbus, too!  I’m craving some Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream right now!  Lemon-Blueberry!  Yum!!  My favorite!

Well, that just about sums up our summer!  We have one more trip scheduled this summer/fall.  We’ll be taking a driving vacation around Lake Michigan in early September.  Our plans include a hot air balloon adventure plus a stay at the Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island.  You can be sure that I’ll be sharing photos from that trip, as well.

Enjoy your weekend!  If you’ve completed your first few days of school, take some time to catch your breath!  It’s good to be back! 

Remember that FACS rocks and so do all of you!

Ramona

