FACS Summer Reading List

Since Lynn Visible by Julia DeVillers has gone out of print (Drat!), I’m back to reading teen novels searching for a replacement in our FACS reading curriculum, A Novel Approach to FACS.  The thought occurred to me that some of you might enjoy reading some of the novels I’m considering.  With that thought the FACS Summer Reading List was born.  I’d love to get your feedback on any of the novels I mention over the next few weeks.  It would also be great if you would share suggestions for novels to include on the List. 

 going vintage I’m only a few chapters into this book, but so far it seems great so I’m starting the FACS Summer Reading List with Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt.  Have any of you read it? 

Overview

When Mallory discovers that her boyfriend, Jeremy, is cheating on her with an online girlfriend, she swears off boys and modern technology.  Inspired by a list of goals her grandmother made in 1962, Mallory decides to “go vintage” and return to a simpler time (when boyfriends couldn’t cheat on you online).  She sets out to complete grandma’s list:  run for pep club secretary, host a dinner party, sew a homecoming dress, find a steady, do something dangerous.  But list is trickier than it looks.  And obviously finding a steady is out.  But with the help of her sister, she’ll get it done.  Somehow.

I’m hoping that two of the list items have good FACS connections.  (Care to guess which ones?  LOL)  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

