Put Me in Coach!

put me in coach

If you don’t know who Sheryl Sandberg is by now, you must have recently moved to a deserted island where there’s no electronic communication whatsoever!  So just in case you find your in those or similar circumstances, I’ll remind you that Sheryl Sandberg is the author of the book Lean In:  Women, Work and the Will to Lead

lean in

The book is causing quite a stir and Ms. Sandberg has been on virtually every news and talk show since the book was released just a few days ago.  I haven’t read the book yet, but I find the overall message inspiring and empowering.  You can learn more about the Lean In Community at http://leanin.org/

All the media attention that this book is garnering has made me ponder the status of FACS professionals, particularly those of us in education.  Since we are a female dominated profession, I think we can apply many of the principles in Ms. Sandberg’s book.  We tend to sit back and take a supporting role in our schools and communities instead of stepping up and speaking up.  If our profession and our programs are going to survive, we’re going to have to be more assertive. 

FACS professionals have the solutions to so many of the problems plaguing our society—obesity, financial stress, family issues, unemployment–just to name a few.  Why are we sitting on the sidelines?  We need to stand up and shout “Put me in coach, I’m ready to play.”

Let’s get the conversation started about how we can propel FACS into the forefront.  We’ve been on the bench for far too long! 

