Design Practice

“Design is where science and art break even.”    Robin Mathew

In my previous recent posts I’ve shared a few photos of our master bedroom redesign project.  Well, I’m happy to report that the project is finally complete and I’m really pleased with the results.  Check out these photos and let me know what you think.

One of the problems I was anxious to address in this project was the low level of light in the room.  The previous owners had installed recessed lighting which didn’t provide enough light for basic tasks like matching up socks.  (You wouldn’t believe how many times my husband went to work with two different color socks! LOL)  Anyway, we replaced the lights with pendant light adapters purchased from the Improvements catalog.  www.improvementscatalog.com The lights were a great value, very sleek and modern, and a snap to install.  Problem solved!  I also got a fabulous deal on a pair of bedside lamps at our local Kohls department store!  www.kohls.com

Master bedroom completed reno 011Master bedroom completed reno 020 

The draperies were another bargain.  Purchased at Penney’s, the panels look expensive but were actually very affordable.  www.jcpenney.com  Penneys is always my go-to source for window treatments.  They’ve never let me down.

Featuring draperies Draperies

I added a touch of sparkle to the room with a grouping of sliver accessories.  The handsome little boy in the photo is my husband.  Cute, isn’t he? The mercury glass lamp bases also reflect light. 

Silver collection Master bedroom completed reno 005

Rhythm is achieved in the room by repeating shapes (lamp shades), colors, and design motifs.  I loved that I was able to use an accessory from another room to repeat the birdhouse motif in the two art canvases.  One of my favorite design tricks is to shop the rooms in our house to find new homes for existing furnishings.  The quirky little birdhouse was in the living room but now looks right at home on the dresser.

004 More Master bedroom photos 005

The funky art pieces were purchased at Pier 1 Imports.  www.pier1.com

I applied countless FACS skills in the completion of this decorating project.  Every step of the process—sewing the quilt and other bedding accessories, applying design elements to the overall project, budgeting and purchasing, measuring for and selecting window treatments, selecting art and decorating accessories, arranging furniture and so much more. 

These skills and concepts are all part of the FACS curriculum.  Are you living the FACS life?  Don’t forget to share what you do with others.  It reminds them of how important what you teach really is!

Ramona

