World of Work

money in purseWorking for a living is a fact of life for virtually everyone I know.  We spend a great deal of our lives considering what we’d like to do for a living, preparing for that job and putting in long hours at that job. 

Preparing students to become productive, motivated workers is an important part of what we FACS teachers do.  So today’s song is the first entry on the Career Connections playlist.  I think that this song could be used in any FACS course that has a career and employability emphasis.

This one honors women who work outside the home. I like that!

The alarm went off but I wasn’t asleep
After tossin’ and turnin’ all night what a relief
To go to work, get up and go to work
So I get onto the highway and I head into town
There’s one part of my life I won’t let you tear down
Yeah and that’s my work-right now I’m goin’ to work

When the whistle blows, I’ll be there
Life goes on even when it’s not fair
And who’s got time to hurt, right now
I got to go to work

Now I remember what it is I do
For a while I thought my life was just loving you
But now it’s back to work
Oh thank God for my work
So from nine to five I take a break from an empty
Bed and a heart that aches, I’m good at my work
Oh I’m good at my work

When the whistle blows, I’ll be there
Life goes on even when it’s not fair
And who’s got time to hurt, right now
I got to go to work

Oh I got to stay busy that’s the only way
Throw myself into my business and collect my pay
Watch me keep it together while I fall apart
’cause a world won’t stop for a broken heart
Oh no, no

When the whistle blows, I’ll be there
Life goes on even when it’s not fair
And who’s got time to hurt, right now
I got to go to work
Watch me I’m goin’ to work
Oh yeah you know I’m good at my work
Right now I’m goin’ to work
Goin’ to work

This begins week #4 of the FACS Soundtrack Project.  I just wanted to remind you that your comments and suggestions are welcome and appreciated.  Hope you have a great week!

Ramona

