What a Cream Puff!

cream puff

Pate a choux is French for cream puff dough or choux pastry.  It’s made by combining water or other liquid, butter, flour, and eggs into a smooth batter. 

Some of the popular desserts made from this tender, flaky pastry are éclairs, cream puffs, and profiteroles, which are small round pastries made from pate a choux filled with ice cream. 

Choux Pastry Heart by Corrine Bailey Rae isn’t really about cream puffs, but it would still be an interesting way to introduce this food preparation technique in a culinary arts class.  The lyrics of the song would also lend themselves to a relationship discussion.

A tender ballad.

I was just waiting for your phone call
When they came along to say
That a rose done chased you clear away

You had said I was gamine
But we didn’t mean the same thing i think
Broke my choux pastry heart
Guess life’s, no picture post card

One for sorrow
Two for joy

Sometimes you win or sometimes you lose
I don’t wanna lose you
Don’t even own you
I just wanna stay right here
Until never dawns yeah

I was just waiting for your answer (Still)
You made your own apologies
I cried so much I had to leave

Three for a girl
Four for a boy

Sometimes you win or sometimes you lose
I don’t wanna lose you
Don’t even own you
I just wanna stay right here
Until never dawns yeah

Have a great week!

Ramona

