Tax Day 2012

tax day

This one’s a no-brainer, right?  If you teach any lessons related to money management or financial planning, you undoubtedly touch on the topic of taxes.  Since today is the tax day, the song Taxman by The Beatles is an obvious tie-in.  If you use this in class, you may need to explain a few of the references to your students.  In any case, enjoy this blast from the radical sixties!  Peace out!

Wow! They look so young, don’t they?

Let me tell you how it will be
There’s one for you, nineteen for me
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

Should five per cent appear too small
Be thankful I don’t take it all
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

If you drive a car, I’ll tax the street,
If you try to sit, I’ll tax your seat.
If you get too cold I’ll tax the heat,
If you take a walk, I’ll tax your feet.

Don’t ask me what I want it for
If you don’t want to pay some more
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

Now my advice for those who die
Declare the pennies on your eyes
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman
And you’re working for no one but me.

“I think music in itself is healing.  It’s an explosive expression of humanity.  It’s something we are all touched by.  No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.”       Billy Joel

FACS rocks!

Ramona

