Most Important Meal of the Day

breakfast

While adults need to eat breakfast each day to perform their best, kids need it even more.  Their growing bodies and developing brains rely heavily on the regular intake of food.  When kids skip breakfast, they can end up going for as long as eighteen hours without food, and this period of depravation can create a lot of physical, intellectual, and behavioral problems. 

I hope that you’ll include instruction on preparing simple breakfast foods as a part of your FACS curriculum.  Today’s FACS Soundtrack selection might be a fun way to introduce students to the discussion of the topic of the nutritional importance of breakfast.  Pay attention to the lyrics and you’ll hear a reference to an unusual breakfast food.  Kippers, anyone?

Bouncy little tune originally recorded by Supertramp.

Take a look at my girlfriend, she’s the only one I got
Not much of a girlfriend, never seem to get a lot
Take a jumbo across the water, like to see America
See the girls in California
I’m hoping it’s going to come true but there’s not a lot I can do
Could we have kippers for breakfast, mummy dear, mummy dear
They got to have ’em in Texas, cause everyone’s a millionaire
I’m a winner, I’m a sinner, do you want my autograph?
I’m a loser, what a joker
I’m playing my jokes upon you while there’s nothing better to do

Don’t you look at my girlfriend (Girlfriend), she’s the only one I got
Not much of a girlfriend (Girlfriend), never seem to get a lot (What’s she got? Not a lot)
Take a jumbo cross the water, like to see America
See the girls in California
I’m hoping it’s going to come true but there’s not a lot I can do

Hope you’ll visit our Facebook page to learn about an important upcoming special dealing with childhood hunger in America on the Food Network.

Have a great weekend!

Ramona

