Independence

you don't own me

This is another song that I had forgotten until I heard it on the car radio on our recent drive to Little Rock and Dallas.  It has always disturbed me that so many of our young female students allow themselves to be controlled by the young men that they date, setting up an unhealthy pattern that often continues into adulthood.  This song expresses a healthy sense of feminine self worth and strength.

The lyrics of today’s FACS Soundtrack selection, You Don’t Own Me, expresses a sense of independence that our young girls need to hear.  I hope that you will use this song to introduce a discussion of the topic of feminine self worth.

Lesley Gore expresses her feminism before the movement was mainstream.

You don’t own me, I’m not just one of your many toys
You don’t own me, don’t say I can’t go with other boys

And don’t tell me what to do
And don’t tell me what to say
And please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display, ’cause

You don’t own me, don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me, don’t tie me down ’cause I’d never stay

Oh, I don’t tell you what to say
I don’t tell you what to do
So just let me be myself
That’s all I ask of you

I’m young and I love to be young
I’m free and I love to be free
To live my life the way I want
To say and do whatever I please

A-a-a-nd don’t tell me what to do
Oh-h-h-h don’t tell me what to say
And please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display

I don’t tell you what to say
Oh-h-h-h don’t tell you what to do
So just let me be myself
That’s all I ask of you

I’m young and I love to be young
I’m free and I love to be free
To live my life the way I want

Hope you’re having a good week!

Ramona

