I’m Cracking Up!

animal crackers

A little birdy told me that today is National Animal Cracker Day!  What happy childhood memories that little red box recalls.  I think it was the string on the box that made me so happy as a child.  Probably because it was like a little purse full of crispy goodness.  How about making animal crackers with your students.  Here’s a great recipe that tastes very much like the store-bought crackers.  Thanks, Oprah!

http://www.oprah.com/food/Animal-Cookies-Recipe-Making-Your-Own-Animal-Crackers

Love this movie clip of today’s FACS Soundtrack selection. Introduce your students to Shirley Temple! She was such a cutie.

Animal crackers in my soup,
Monkeys and rabbits loop the loop.
Gosh, oh gee, but I have fun,
Swallowing animals one by one.

In every bowl of soup I see,
Lions and tigers watching me.
I make ’em jump right through a hoop,
Those animal crackers in my soup.

When they’re inside me where it’s dark,
I walk around like Noah’s ark.
I stuff my tummy like a goop,
With animal cracker in my soup.

Animal crackers in my soup,
Do funny things to me.
They make me think my neighborhood
Is a big menagerie.

For instance, there’s our janitor,
His name is Mr. Kline
And when he hollers at us kids,
He reminds me of a lion!

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”  Berthold Auerbach

Have a Fresh FACS day!

Ramona

