Earth Day is Coming!

“Life can’t be all bad when for ten dollars you can buy all the Beethoven sonatas and listen to them for ten years.”  William F. Buckley, Jr.

house made of money

You’re all keenly aware that the weekend is just around the corner, right?  Of course, I am!  But have you noticed that this weekend we will celebrate the 42nd anniversary of Earth Day? 

For the most part, we live a pretty eco-friendly lifestyle.  We recycle, try not waste water and other resources and generally act responsibly.  I hope that living green is a part of your everyday life as well.

I think that modeling respect for the environment is particularly important for us as FACS teachers.  May I remind you that our FACS Founder, Ellen Swallow Richards introduced the term ‘ecology” into the American vernacular in the late 1800s?  It just always seems to me that we should honor Ellen’s (Yes, I feel like we’re on a first name basis, thank you very much!) accomplishments and make green living a central part of the FACS curriculum.

In honor of Ellen and Earth Day, our selections for the FACS Soundtrack will follow a green theme for the next couple of days.  Enjoy!

http://www.earthday.org/2012

http://innovators.vassar.edu/innovator.html?id=43

Great example of a folk song.

Some people say I’m a no ‘count. Others say I’m no good.
But I’m just a nat’ral-born travelin’ man, doin’ what I think I should, O, yeah. Doin’ what I think I should.

[Chorus:]
And I don’t give a damn about a greenback dollar, spend it as fast as I can.
For a wailin’ song and a good guitar, the only things that I understand, poor boy, the only things that I understand.

When I was a little baby, my momma said, "Hey, son. Travel where you will and grow to be a man
And sing what must be sung, poor boy. Sing what must be sung."

[Chorus]

Now that I’m a grown man, I’ve traveled here and there. I’ve learned that a bottle of brandy and a song,
The only ones who ever care, poor boy, the only ones who ever care.

FiveMinuteFACS0604 

If you’d like to include more green living activities in your FACS curriculum, check out our resources Home Ecology, The FACS of Living Green and Get off to a Green Start. They include activities for every FACS content area with complete support materials.

I’d like to invite you to follow us on Twitter for some fun ideas and insights for teaching FACS.  Ramona@freshfacs  #teachfacs

Have a Fresh FACS day!

Ramona

