A Living Wage

food service worker

Students are introduced to many career options in Family and Consumer Science courses.  However, some of the most visible and familiar FACS careers are the front-of-the-house jobs in the food service industry.  A career in food service may not always offer a hefty paycheck, but it does promise long hours and hard work.  That’s probably why food service came to mind when I selected today’s FACS Soundtrack selection.

Love, love, love Huey!

Somedays won’t end ever and some day pass on by,
I’ll be working here forever, at least until I die.
Dammed if you do, dammed if you don’t
I’m supposed to get a raise week, you know damn well I won’t.

Workin’ for a livin’ (workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’ (workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’, livin’ and workin’
I’m taking what they giving ’cause I’m working for a livin’.

Hey I’m not complaining ’cause I really need the work
Hitting up my buddy’s got me feeling like a jerk
Hundred dollar car note, two hundred rent.
I get a check on Friday, but it’s all ready spent.

Workin’ for a livin’ (workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’ (workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’, livin’ and workin’
I’m taking what they giving ’cause I’m working for a livin’.

Ooh, Workin’ for a livin’
Ooh, taking what they giving
Ooh, Workin’ for a livin’
Ooh, ooh

Bus boy, bartender, ladies of the night
Grease monkey, ex-junky, winner of the fight
Walking on the streets its really all the same
selling souls, rock n’ roll, any other day

Workin’ for a livin’ (workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’ (workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’, livin’ and workin’
I’m taking what they giving ’cause I’m working for a livin’.

Workin’ for a livin’, livin’ and workin’
I’m taking what they giving ’cause I’m working for a livin’.
Workin’ for a livin’, livin’ and workin’

Put some fun in your FACS classes with music!  Rock on!

Ramona

