FACS Rocks in 2012!

Today our FACS Tune-Up Project officially begins!  Remember, our goal is to create a soundtrack for the entire FACS curriculum by sharing a song related to a different FACS concept each weekday of 2012.  If I’m successful, that will mean creating a directory of 260 songs that you can use to make your FACS classroom the most rockin’ area in your school.  Don’t forget that you are welcome to suggest songs throughout the year!  Just post a comment with title of the song that you would use in your classroom along with a link to help us locate it on the web.

Since it’s January, I thought we’d start with a topic that is always on everyone’s mind this time of year–getting in shape.  It’s a modern American tradition!  We overeat throughout the holidays and then struggle to take the extra pounds off in January.  So this week, we’ll be looking for music related to the topics of:

  • healthy eating
  • losing weight
  • exercise
  • shaping up

The first song in our FACS soundtrack is Healthy Body by Operation Ivy.  Get ready, because this one really moves. 

Lots of topics for discussion with this one!

Expensive vitamin pills and wheat germ on your windowsill
Your schedule’s hectic and you’ve got no time to kill
Earning money and you’re spending it the right way
Just in such a rush you don’t know if it’s night or day

5:30 get up, run run run
Then you work eight hours
Slaving under the gun
Little world is based on lies lies lies
Always rushing but you’re never ever satisfied

Healthy body sick mind
You’re working overtime
Healthy body sick mind
Too hectic, too hectic
Healthy body sick mind
"Why don’t you just unwind?"
It’s just a matter of time
Sick body sick mind!

The money you spend on running shoes could feed me for a week
Your plans are laid so well you can’t even sleep
Pursuit of happiness got you life locked up under marshall law
You got everything to lose so you’re paranoid about some fatal flaw

5:30 get up, run run run
Then you work eight hours
Slaving underneath the gun
Little world is based on lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies
Ooooooooooooooooooooh!
Always rushing but you’re never ever satisfied

Healthy body sick mind
You’re working overtime
Healthy body sick mind
Too hectic, too hectic
Healthy body sick mind
Why don’t you just unwind?
It’s just a matter of time
Sick body sick mind!

Have a Rockin’ FACS day!

Ramona

A Little Sweet Talk

The average American consumes 156 pounds of it every year.  That’s about 31 five-pound bags for each of us.  It’s the main component of candy, soda and most so-called “junk food.”  You all know that I’m talking about sugar.  Just about everyone has a sweet tooth and that addiction to sugar can be devastating to our waistlines and our health.  So on day 2 of our FACS Tune Up Project our song is:

Sugar, ah honey honey
You are my candy girl
And you’ve got me wanting you.
Honey, ah sugar sugar
You are my candy girl
And you’ve got me wanting you.
I just can’t believe the loveliness of loving you
(I just can’t believe it’s true)
I just can’t believe the one to love this feeling to.
(I just can’t believe it’s true)
Ah sugar, ah honey honey
You are my candy girl
And you’ve got me wanting you.
Ah honey, ah sugar sugar
You are my candy girl
And you’ve got me wanting you.
When I kissed you, girl, I knew how sweet a kiss could be
(I know how sweet a kiss can be)
Like the summer sunshine pour your sweetness over me
(Pour your sweetness over me)
Sugar, pour a little sugar on it honey,
Pour a little sugar on it baby
I’m gonna make your life so sweet, yeah yeah yeah
Pour a little sugar on it oh yeah
Pour a little sugar on it honey,
Pour a little sugar on it baby
I’m gonna make your life so sweet, yeah yeah yeah
Pour a little sugar on it honey,
Ah sugar, ah honey honey
You are my candy girl
And you’ve got me wanting you.
Oh honey, honey, sugar sugar ..
You are my candy girl

FYI–You’ll find other versions of this song on YouTube.  You decide how hip you want your classroom to be.  LOL

Here’s a link to a great article about the health affects of sugar.  http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=56589

Have a Rockin’ FACS Day!

Ramona

Hold the Fries!

junk foodThis is day 3 of our FACS Tune-Up Project and today’s topic is junk food.  When we think about eating healthy and getting in shape, the topic of “junk food” nearly always comes up.  Personally, I think that the list of foods that actually should be classified as junk food is pretty short.  In my opinion, nearly any food can fit into a healthy eating plan when consumed in appropriate proportions and frequency. 

Today’s musical selection would make the perfect introduction to a discussion on the topic of what constitutes junk food and whether it can ever fit into a healthy diet.  As a bonus, the song will probably also bring a chuckle or two.

You know I love that organic cooking
I always ask for more
And they call me Mr. Natural
On down to the health food store
I only eat good sea salt
White sugar don’t touch my lips
And my friends is always
Begging me to take them
On macrobiotic trips
Yes, they are
Oh, but at night I stake out my strongbox
That I keep under lock and key
And I take it off to my closet
Where nobody else can see
I open that door so slowly
Take a peek up north and south
Then I pull out a Hostess Twinkie
And I pop it in my mouth

Yeah, in the daytime I’m Mr. Natural
Just as healthy as I can be
But at night I’m a junk food junkie
Good lord have pity on me
Well, at lunchtime
You can always find me
At the Whole Earth Vitamin Bar
Just sucking on my plain white yogurt
From my hand thrown pottery jar
And sippin’ a little hand pressed cider
With a carrot stick for dessert
And wiping my face
In a natural way
On the sleeve of my peasant shirt
Oh yeah
Ah, but when that clock strikes midnight
And I’m all by myself
I work that combination
On my secret hideaway shelf
And I pull out some Fritos corn chips
Dr. Pepper and an Ole Moon Pie
Then I sit back in glorious expectation
Of a genuine junk food high

Oh yeah, in the daytime I’m Mr. Natural
Just as healthy as I can be
But at night I’m a junk food junkie
Good lord have pity on me
My friends down at the commune
They think I’m pretty neat
Oh, I don’t know nothing about arts and crafts
But I give ’em all something to eat
I’m a friend to old Euell Gibbons
And I only eat homegrown spice
I got a John Keats autographed Grecian urn
Filled up with my brown rice
Yes, I do
Oh, but folks lately I have been spotted
With a Big Mac on my breath
Stumbling into a Colonel Sanders
With a face as white as death
I’m afraid someday they’ll find me
Just stretched out on my bed
With a handful of Pringles Potato Chips
And a Ding Dong by my head
In the daytime I’m Mr. Natural
Just as healthy as I can be
But at night I’m a junk food junkie
Good lord have pity on me

Check out this website for the real scoop on junk food.  http://www.dietitian.com/junkfood.html

Have a rockin’ FACS day!

Ramona